Writing for children

4

December 29, 2014 by barbarakonery

Did you ever tried to write a story for children? I did today for the very first time. It wasn’t so easy as somebody would think.

I’m a mother of 3 children. Two young teenagers and one of 3 years. I know what I’m looking in stories when we watch something together. Whether it’s short story in tv or long one like in cinema. Yup, I want to find in stories something instructive. I know how that can be boring for children though. So my children are looking for something funny. And as stories like that there is quite a lot. And as easy as it is to put a child in front of tv it is really hard to make them read. At least mine. So I wanted to try to write for children. And a big problem. I had in front of me a vision of my children saying:”Mom! It’s boring!”.

But I did it. Now I need to give it last “cut” and I’ll try, that short story of mine, on my children. Let’s see if it’s “bullet proof”.

Did you ever tried to write children stories? Are you a writer whom do that? Do you want to?

Please, share in comments.

See you soon

B.

4 thoughts on “Writing for children

  1. rolandclarke says:

    Would be interesting to know what you do with the story.

    Have written a few short stories for children, and, although I read them to my grandchildren, I’m not sure that was a true test. At the moment the stories are on the back burner.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

